dream from 04/11/23: new life birthed in the marketplace!

Two nights ago, I dreamt of being at a marketplace and as I was walking by, someone mentioned something had dropped onto the floor (which was a cold damp concrete pavement). No-one could see anything and a woman with a mid-length long winter coat opened her legs slightly to see if her waters had broken. They hadn’t but then a baby’s head dropped out! There was no water breaking, but that’s what must have dropped but been ‘heard’ rather than seen or felt. As everyone was trying to get towels (although there wasn’t any, as the market stall tent was selling bric-a-brac kind of stuff), the baby dropped fully out and landed on the dirty cement floor- fully well already wrapped! Then another baby dropped out and landed in it’s protection sack onto the floor and even slided on the concrete a bit! Everyone around saw everything that happened!

I was going to pass by when I saw a baby was going to be coming as I had no idea what to do and felt panicked, but ended up staying and seeing that no-one else knew what to do either and had nothing at all to ‘help’, plus the babies came too fast anyway for anyone to ‘get ready and prepared’.

I woke from this thinking about my workplace and feeling like God is showing new life being born in the ‘marketplace’ (workplaces etc) where everyone can see. There was no goryness or vulnerability as the one who gave birth was fully covered with thick coat (as it seemed to be cold and wet weather). And there was also no pain. I’m not sure if the one who gave birth was aware that they were pregnant as she had her back to me and I couldn’t see if she had a bump.

There was no pushing or discomfort. It was with ease the babies came.

The babies survived the ‘drop’ onto the hard pavement area and there was happiness and amazement to see them. They were not despised, and nor was their surroundings- even though the surroundings was the least appropriate place for babies to be born! There was also more than usual; one baby is regular, the next one was abundant, beyond, excessive.

As I have tried to ‘unpack’ this I have thought how easy I can leave when I feel uncomfortable and out of my depth, but that it was worth staying so that I could be part of this amazing situation. It also shows that no-one knew what to do either! We are all in the same boat of having no idea how to help or what to do, but being around people as they ‘give birth’ is encouragement to them so that they are not alone and everyone is able celebrate together. It also shows that God does not need our ‘help’ in delivering, but desires that we are still there and part if it.

There is a lot more to unpack, but I felt like I should share this so that you can ask God if there is anything for Him to reveal to you yourself, as I believe there is a lot within this that God can speak to us about if we are open to hearing Him..

God bless/teach/fill 🙂

Leave a comment